Struck

rose

I am stricken by the fear that you don’t love me.

You were distant yesterday,

and when you said goodnight

there were only cold, hard periods

at the end of your sentences,

not one of those sweet nothings

that I love that you call me.

No, you only called me “darling” once,

in the morning.

What could one day have done

to make you so distant?

I cannot see your face

or hear your voice

to know the tone of your goodnight,

and I am stricken with the fear

that you no longer love me.

For you barely spoke

and when you did,

there were only cold, hard

periods at the end of yours sentences.

So definitive,

in the way they say

“no, I no longer love you.”

I hope that I am only

reading too much into a few letters on a screen,

for my heart is already shaking,

struck by the cruel possibility

that you might not feel that way about me

after all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Struck

  1. there were only cold, hard periods
    at the end of your sentences,

    sometimes they seem so

Leave a Reply

